Local Fashion Blogger Feature: Meet Grace Liang of Color And Grace

Spotlight

Fashion bloggers are the go-to these days for style advice and inspiration.  We are proud to feature a local fashion blogger who is making waves with her style and sharing it all on her blog, Color and Grace.  Learn more about Grace Liang in our exclusive interview!

DSC6925

 

DSC1012

Share with us your background and how you got started with your blog...

I was born and raised in China and moved to the U.S.A. in 2007 to marry my husband. Fashion has always been something I really enjoy and my dream has been to somehow work in that industry. My first try was when I was in high school. I was accepted by a fashion design school in Beijing, China but my family couldn’t afford the tuition. In China at that time, we didn’t have any working opportunity or student loans like they do here. My second try was back in 2005, when I opened my own online women’s clothing boutique. It was pretty popular very quickly so I added my home studio and even hired an assistant. But because of my plan to move to America I had to sell that business. You know the saying “third time’s the charm”. Round 3 came about 16 months ago. I was web surfing blogs and websites and suddenly it hit me. If I used the same investment of my time that I was on looking at other people’s work and instead, put that energy into starting my own blog, I might actually be able to build something. Plus, I had just turned 40 earlier that year, if I didn’t try it then, I might never get another chance to satisfy my passion about fashion.

 

DSC1555

 

When did Color and Grace start and how has your blog evolved since?

Color and Grace was born on December 7, 2014. In the 16 months since it has grown to about 30,000 monthly page views and totally about 30,000 followers. Color and Grace has become the place for petite/over 40’s women who are looking for inspiration, tips and ideas for fashion and life style. I am always looking for ways to improve my content and in recent months have switched my focus to use my blog as a platform to promote local designers, events and anything else fashion related in the greater Detroit area. I realized that with my blog I actually have a platform to help others and am happy and proud to do so. Detroit is coming back and I love to play a positive role in this movement.

 

DSC2750

 

What do you love most about your job as a fashion blogger?

Seeing and hearing how some of my followers are looking and feeling their best because they used my suggestions. And all the fun events that I got invited to. For example, the recent New York Fashion Week. But the best part is I have met so many great people because of blogging.

 

What is your reader like and what do they wear? What are they interested in?

I believe my readers follow me because we all love the elegant and classy style. We are not trend victims, but we are not behind the times either. We know how to mix high end and mainstream, and also add a little bit of a fun twist to inject our personality.

DSC1412-1024x681

What are your current favorite styles for Spring?

I love traveling very much and have been to many places. so this Spring I am really into the Globetrotter style.

 

Anything else you’d like to tell us about yourself or your blog?

Ordinary, everyday people can overcome huge obstacles in their lives if they remember two things. Believe in yourself and do not give up! The average American can not even imagine the conditions where I grew up in northeast China. I tell my husband about the house I lived in and he just shakes his head and mumbles something about pioneer times. Throw in the traditional cultural beliefs in China that boys are the chosen gender and there was little chance and zero support for me or my dreams.

It wasn’t until I had moved away from home to the big city life of Shanghai that I finally started breaking away from what I called my Ugly Duckling phase. I was in my 30’s when I first heard I might just be pretty. The first time a man ever encouraged me to follow my dreams was from the one I moved to America to marry. He helped me to really believe in myself and since then, more and more good things have happened. 

It’s not easy. I work really hard at my life. I have a full time job along with being a full time blogger. Then in my spare time, I hang out with my family and friends or am in my garden or working around our home. Throw in a little time to eat and sleep and there just aren’t enough hours in most days. But when I sit down and look around me I can honestly say I love my life now!

There’s no doubt in my mind that If I can do it, so can you! Just don’t give up on your dreams!  

-Grace

 

DSC6810

Leave a Reply

